Get Up! Stand Up! Migrants Organise launches National Action Plan

30 November 2016
Carla Montemayor

Last Saturday 26th November, 80 inspiring migrant and refugee movement builders from around the UK came together to share and launch their plans for actions for justice, dignity and power.

Our first nation-wide Action Planning Day gave space to migrant and refugee movement builders to share their plans, strategise on common goals and meet others also taking action. The event was a culmination of a four-month listening exercise, which saw Migrants Organise staff meeting more than 170 movement builders, leaders and community members from 26 cities around the UK. We asked ‘What’s stopping us from building a national migrant-led movement?’ and ‘What issue would mobilise our community to act?’.

Migrant and refugees groups around the country – from Nottingham to Manchester, Oxford to Sheffield – joined the stage to share their actions. The day centred around three themes that came from Migrants Organise’s summer of listening. Learn more by clicking on each theme.

Freedom from Fear

Right to Belong

Everyday Borders
ActionPlanningDay Nov16 130 ActionPlanningDay Nov16 063
[Photo credits: Azi]

As well as local and individual actions that organisations shared, we discussed collective actions that we would organise together: to take creative workplace actions on February 20th 2017, as part of One Day Without Us; to campaign for voluntary ID cards in London, inspired by similar actions in New York and Paris; and to mobilise and register voters for regional and mayoral elections on 4th May 2017.

The day also introduced our new Migrant Organisers, who are working around the country to grow the power of migrants and refugees acting for dignity, justice and power.

To join Migrants Organise or get involved in actions, please contact your local organiser:

London  Paul: paul@migrantsorganise.org
East & South East of England   Jean-Michel: jean-michel@migrantsorganise.org
The Midlands  Mike: mike@migrantsorganise.org
Yorkshire & Humber  Penny: penny@migrantsorganise.org
North West England  Ramona: ramona@migrantsorganise.org
Refugees Welcome actions  Akram: akram@migrantsorganise.org

For other areas of the UK, please contact Jessica: jessica@migrantsorganise.org.

 

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *